Day One – Greetings and Salutations

I suppose, as its been said before, the first step is always the hardest. Today is that first step.

Hi, Hello, and Welcome to my first crack at making myself “more available,” as in, getting out there to meet the myriad of other people across the world and hopefully trade a bit of time for a story.

All his despite my normal shyness around strangers. New years resolutions, aren’t they the worst?

Awkward introductions aside, the plan for the stream of thoughts, concerns, and penned frustrations that are to follow from here will chronicle my attempt at throwing my lot in with the other creative souls of the world and set my hand to writing. I’ve toyed with the idea for longer than I care to admit and it has undoubtedly seen more iterations than cell phones, computers, and televisions combined (maybe 3 or 4 less than that total, but so very close) The concept is in hand, or head rather, and I’ve been feverishly pecking away at the keyboard in an attempt to pour this living, breathing world out onto the page.

For those that may be interested, I’m crafting what will be an alternative variation of a steampunkย infused (not Victorian) dystopia.

On an abandoned planet that has long since been picked over and left to rot by the roving mass of humanity as it works its way across the universe; those unfortunate souls that have found themselves left behind struggle to survive a world going cold.

Also to come:

  • Short stories
  • Snippets of what I’m working on now
  • Cookies
  • Artist renderings of characters/places/things from within the world itself, and other worlds as well
  • Learning more about how to do this whole blogging thing — forgive my newness I know not what I do!

Lastly, I have to acknowledge right off the bat my incredible family, my wife and daughter, without whom I wouldn’t have to nerve to even begin.

-Sam

About Sam Hughes

A military veteran, an avid techie, and most importantly, a new father with an itch to write for writing's sake. Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, I've made my way around the U.S. through various means experiencing what I can every step of the way. I have an immense love for all things Science Fiction, but particularly find myself drawn to post-apocalyptic literature. I'm a long time writer working on getting down enough of my ideas, then re-working them into things that, hopefully, others can come to enjoy as much as I enjoyed writing. Always happy to talk about most anything, especially anything tied to the craft or just stories in general. View all posts by Sam Hughes

3 responses to “Day One – Greetings and Salutations

  • biahelvetti

    Welcome to the blogoverse! ๐Ÿ™‚ Look forward to reading your stories, many blessings to you and yours, Bia ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sam Hughes

      Thank you very much!

      It would seem that there’s definitely good company to be had in these little coves of the web.
      Polishing up a short story and should be up later today/tomorrow depending how much my daughter lets me get done.

      • biahelvetti

        Yes there’s a great community on here – we all support eachother ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to reading your stories – although I sympathise too, I am a wife and mother myself and family always has to come before work! Many blessings to you and yours, Bia ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

